First Vacation as a “fit girl”

1150366_10200513982194273_1553621580_n

I’ve always considered myself a healthy eater, even when I was not working out. It hasn’t been until recently that I decided to make the conscious effort to take control of my health and wellness both in the gym and in the kitchen. Over the past 6 weeks, I’ve seen an amazing transformation in my body that I not only see but can feel. So when Russ pledged taking a vacation, I was both EXCITED (!!!!) and anxious about de-railing (and undoing everything I have been working for). I initially started with the right mindset – okay, we can do this. Just eat well as much as possible and you won’t feel horrible about it.

Welp, at dinner on Friday (after a beer here, a beer there and a beer everywhere), I gave into some temptations – including a cream sauce on my seafood pasta (eek), bad carb galore and even biscuits and gravy. So, needless to say, today, I am a little disappointed in my choices BUT I am continuing to remind myself that I am human and I’ve made a conscious lifestyle change – not just a fad diet – and I won’t be perfect.

The question now is, how do you successfully recover from a weekend of splurging?

Here are some of the tips that I will be following the rest of the week:

1. GET RE-FOCUSED ON YOUR GOAL(S). So you ate your “never eat these foods” foods, drank more than you have since NYE and didn’t exercise – big deal! You were on holiday! Do not beat yourself up for these choices because life is too short not to splurge once in a while! Today is the first day that you make the choice to get back on the road you were on and don’t look back. You didn’t get skinny in one weekend, so you won’t get fat from one weekend.

2. WATER IS YOUR BEST FRIEND! Water has that amazing ability to detox your body, which is exactly what you need right now. Not only will it help you rid of toxins, it will hydrate you for the calorie-busting workout you will enjoy after your day at work (see step 4). If you want to add flavor, put in a slice of lemon or other fruit.

3. BE PICKY! Do not let the your “vacation” extend any longer when it comes to food. Do not give into those little temptations that you may have given into this weekend. Avoid any processed food, and even try something you’ve been thinking of doing like only eating raw foods for lunch and dinner.

4. GET MOVING! I am using this break from my healthy lifestyle as more fuel and motivation in the gym. I cannot wait for the clock to strike 5 so I can work my muscles and SWEAT out all of those toxins! Remember: your body has been “resting” for a few extra days so make sure you get in a solid stretch and warm-up before you power through your workout.

Continue to remind yourself that you’re human. In your mind, you know what you need to do to get back on track so just jump back on that road and keep moving forward.

