Coffee Rubbed Steak

photo (2)

 

 

My lovely dinner last night. I saw these awesome little eye-round steaks at Publix that were about 6 oz (can’t handle much more) and decided to cook them up with some caprese Roma tomatoes and some asparagus.

For the steak rub I used (3 servings):

1 tbsp Instant Coffee Grounds

1 tsp Red Chili Flakes

1 tsp McCormick’s Steakhouse Maple

1 tsp Brown Sugar

Dash of S and P

I put all of these ingredients in my bullet and got them to a nice grounded texture. Then I rubbed both sides of the steak.

I put the oven on Broil “Low” and let them sit for about 5-7 minutes.

 

For the caprese Roma Tomatoes (each):

1 half Roma tomatoes

1 oz of part-skim mozzarella

1 tsp basil paste or pesto

 

For the asparagus:

1 tsp EVOO

dash of S and P

 

When the oven was ready, I added the steak, the tomatoes and the asparagus to the pan for about 8 minutes (or until the asparagus was bright green and the tomatoes had a wilted look to them). The steak was a little more rare than I liked (about medium-rare) when I took it out so I added it back to the broil for about 4 minutes.

All-in-all it was a good meal that didn’t make me feel “stuffed” but relatively full.

Basic nutritional facts: 

389 calories for the whole meal, 15g of fat and 42 grams of protein.

 

 

